One of the places I visited when I was in Seoul was Gyeongbokgung Palace.

 I initially wanted to visit Changdeok Palace because of its beautiful and lush garden  but it was closed during that time.  *Most palaces are closed on Mondays and Holidays*

I got there by walking around Seoul with the aid of my City Maps 2 Go app but the easiest way to get there is through their subway via Line 3 to Gyeongbokgung station and leave exit 5.

You can witness Changing of Guards every hour from 10am to 4pm just right outside the palace.


If you wish to see the inside of the palace, you’ll have to pay 3,000 Won (Half price for Kids and Teens from 7 to 18) at the entrance.

Here’s the schedule for the free guided walking tours:
-English: 11:00am, 1:30pm and 3:30pm
-Japanese: 10:00am, 12:30pm and 2:30pm
-Chinese: 10:30am, 1:00pm and 3:00pm

Facade of the Palace

Inside the palace

Hmm, although the architecture was impressive, I didn’t quite enjoy it.  It’s just not my thing.  Witnessing changing of the guards was enough for me.

