Something unusual and extraordinary happened this year.  Jephunneh, the closest friend of mine did not  want to celebrate a month-long birthday; no chaos, no qualms. Worse, he just didn’t want to celebrate his birthday AT ALL. Odd.

He had no idea of the huge surprise awaiting him that day.  I bore the pressure the entire time. I had to influence his decision. When I told him that I already filed my vacation leave for his birthday, without second thoughts, he picked no less than Tavolata.

(Not in picture: 5 pizzas, 2 pasta dishes, and drinks).

 

 

Nimrod and Cherry fresh from Singapore

Usual Suspects: Baba, Kathy, me.  Missing in action: Rey.

Birthday boy with Baba

Birthday boy with yours truly. (Yes, I’ve lost 13lbs since January)

Birthday boy with Kathy

THE SURPRISE

Along with the 29 gifts, including a Nikon d7100, April came home from Canada that day.   (April started working in Canada early last year).  The other surprise: a trip to Hong Kong (flight + hotel bookings, itinerary c/o yours truly :p).

Teary-eyed Jephunneh 😛

 

Happy birthday, dong! 🙂

