There are only few entries you’ll find online about Mae Krua. Today, I decided to give it a visit. To my dismay, it took me almost an hour to locate this restaurant. Don’t get me wrong, I love to walk before I eat. Thus, the one hour of looking.

I was told that it’s in front of Velez College. The easiest way to locate this is through the Diplomat Hotel; around 150M from Velez Hospital, 50M from Bigfoot, 2 lots away from Diplomat Hotel, right beside City Suites. It’s okay to get lost sometimes. Jeepneys 14D from Ayala, 17C and 04C from Colon are among the others that pass by this area.

This is by far the cheapest Thai resto I’ve been to and gives a little push to Krua Thai and Siam’s flavors. (although I think Siam is more commercial).

My usual favorites: Pad Thai @ Php155.00 and Tomyum Goong @ Php175.00. During this visit, I went for Tomyum Goong Noodle Soup for Php200.00. I didn’t get to finish tge entire serving. Halfway through the bowl, my hyperacidity started to spike lol.

Sourness was just about right and the shrimps and noodles were perfectly cooked.

This is the closest I’ve had to authentic Thai food. And in case you ask, yes, they serve Singha.

I hughly recommend giving Mae Krua a visit. (I still have to give it to Krua Thai for the ambiance). The place is very “discreet” as well. They have wifi, too.

This is my first post via iphone. Please excuse typos and brevity. Will update with photos in a while. 🙂

Mae Krua
80 F. Ramos Street,
Cebu City

