I love Boracay. Its fine, powdery, white sand is as pristine as it could get.  It has been considered as one of the Amazing Places To Experience Around The Globe by the website, www.thecoolhunter.net.   True enough, it’s a paradise on its own.

Boracay has a lot to offer: the nightlife is great and there’s just a variety of food to choose from (lots of them!). You can either choose to do water activities or just simply relax by the beach.

However lately, the airfares have been ridiculously expensive (my friends have noticed that, too).  I can’t be sure if it’s because of the fuel economy but heck, it’s even cheaper to fly abroad considering that Caticlan is just a 45-minute plane ride from Cebu.

I’m not claiming to be well-versed in this industry but if it’s a response to the demand, the Filipinos could barely have a taste of their own paradise unless one is willing to painstakingly endure the long ride from Iloilo City.  Of course, I am still thankful to the foreign tourists who keep the businesses alive in Aklan (different story).

One of the celebrities here in the Philippines, Ruffa Gutierrez,  has her say on this.  (Click on the thumbnail to follow her on twitter).

Here are the current fares on two different dates just to show you examples.

1st week of November, 2011

I have flown to Bangkok via Philippine Airlines (PAL) for $138 (roundtrip) all inclusive during the same time period;  twice to Hongkong via Cebu Pacific (Cebupac) for ~$110 for each trip, excluding travel tax.

February 23-26, 2012

Early January of this year, I paid P2030 for a roundtrip ticket to Boracay from Cebu via Airphil.  Why the sudden spike of airfare from P2030 to P6700 for the same time period?  How about the fact that I got a  ~P3300 ticket to Boracay 3 weeks prior to the Holy Week?

It must be the economy, or the airport terminal.  Again, I don’t know.  It’s from a  perspective of a budget-traveler.    I hope someone could explain these things to me.  I’ll never know when I’ll be back to Boracay.

NOTES:
*The three fares shown above are the cheapest fares from Cebu Pacific, Philippine Airlines, Airphil Express with some promo fares.
**All are roundtrip, direct flights from Cebu (CEB) to Boracay (MPH).
***You can book your trip thru Philippine Airlines but you will still be onboard Airphil Express, PAL’s subsidiary.

